Call for PapersWeblogPublic WikiChaos AngelsHackcenterPress

Call for Papers

Version: 1.1 (Aug 28th, 2004)
This Call for Papers is also available as plain text (english version).

21st Chaos Communication Congress
"The Usual Suspects"
December 27th to 29th, 2004
Berliner Congress Center, Berlin, Germany

Overview

The Chaos Communication Congress is an annually held, three-day conference by the Chaos Computer Club of Germany with a focus on technology and its effects on society. The upcoming event will take place from December 27th through 29th 2004 in Berlin, Germany.

Our motto for this year, 'The Usual Suspects', integrates lectures, workshops and discussions about current scientific and technological developments, new aspects of engineering research and sociological insights gathered from deployment of modern technology.

Three different tracks on all three days of the congress will be featuring far more than 80 events per day. These extensive lectures and workshops guarantee for information saturation.

Topics

We are looking for speakers who can preferably hold lectures and/or workshops in English or German. We are especially keen on lectures/workshops that fall into one of the following categories:

Hacking

The 'Hacking' domain includes a range of topics dealing with technology, concentrating on current research with high technical merit. Traditionally, the majority of all talks held tend to be drawn from this domain.

Topics in this domain include but are in no way limited to: network and system insecurity, biometric systems, satellite take-over, creative use of VoIP, insecurities in GSM, etc.

Science

The 'Science' domain deals with current or future objects of scientific research that have the potential to radically change our lives, be it basic research or conducted for the industry.

We are looking for talks and papers on the current state of the art in this domain, covering subjects such as nano technology, quantum computing, high frequency physics, bio technology, brain-computer interfaces, automated analysis of surveilance cctv, etc.

Society

This domain deals with the state of society itself.

We are looking for a reality check and would love to hear about topics such as wire tapping laws, surveillance practices, social and legal aspect of autonomus systems and robots, analysis of snafuing industrial projects like the truck toll in Germany, effects of technology on kids, how nerds live in different cultures and countries, etc.

Culture

This domain deals with cultural mind expansion and subjects on the fringe of the technoverse. Examples would be 20 years of Cyberpunk, social structures and conflict resolution in Wikis and other Social Software, the culture of video games etc.

Community

The Chaos Communication Congress invites developers, projects and activists to present themselves and their topics at the Congress. Developer groups are encouraged to ask for support to hold smaller on-site developer conferences and meetings in the course of the Congress.

Publication

The Chaos Communication Congress Proceedings are published online on the Internet. Only talks and presentation that were actually held will be published.

Audio and video recordings of each lecture will be published online as well in various formats. All material will be available under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Germany license allowing free non-commercial redistribution of the material as long as the original credit to authors and publishers is retained.

Further Information

Since the Chaos Communication Congress is a non-profit oriented event, we are unfortunately unable to pay any fees. Help on the travel expenses is generally possible and is to be agreed upon after acceptance of the lecture/workshop. Low priced accomodation can be organised.

You can find the perliminary agenda at http://www.ccc.de/congress/2004/ You will find also information on the registration procedure for participants here.

For further information and questions please feel free to contact 21c3-content@cccv.de.

Submissions

Lectures should be given in either English or German and should not exceed 60 minutes. This includes a question and answer section. Talking longer than an hour is possible if the topic legitimates it (please remark on submission). Workshops should include a talk on the basic principles and a practical hands-on section.

Submitters are asked to send their application to 21c3-content@cccv.de including at least the following information:

The deadline for submission is October 1st, 2004. Notification of acceptance will be sent by e-mail on November 1st, 2004 the latest. However, you may very well get your notification earlier than that. Final papers or slides are due by December 1st, 2004.

Deadlines

1.10.2004
Submission due
1.11.2004
Latest notification of acceptance
1.12.2004
Final Papers/Presentations due
27.-29.12.2004
Chaos Communication Congress

Call for PapersWeblogPublic WikiChaosengelHackcenterPresse

Call for Papers

Version: 1.1 (28. August 2004)
Dieser Call for Papers liegt auch als einfach umbrochener Text vor. (deutsche Version)

21. Chaos Communication Congress
"The Usual Suspects"
27. bis 29. Dezember 2004
Berliner Congress Center, Berlin, Deutschland

Überblick

Der 21. Chaos Communication Congress des Chaos Computer Club e.V. findet vom 27. bis 29. Dezember in Berlin, Deutschland statt. Der Chaos Communication Congress ist eine jährlich stattfindende, dreitätige Konferenz des Chaos Computer Club zu technischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen.

Unter dem Motto "The Usual Suspects" will der Congress aktuelle technische Erkenntnisse, neue Aspekte der Forschung und gesellschaftspolitische Auswirkungen des Einsatzes von Technologie präsentieren und diskutieren.

Drei parallele Vortragsschienen an allen drei Tagen der Veranstaltung werden weit über 80 Veranstaltungen zu den unterschiedlichsten Themen bieten.

Vortragsthemen

Wir suchen Referenten für Vorträge und Workshops in folgenden fünf Themenbereichen. Diese Gliederung soll als Orientierungshilfe dienen, die Übergänge sind natürlich fliessend.

Hacking

Der Themenbereich "Hacking" umfasst technische Themen aller Art, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf aktuellen Entwicklungen und Erkenntnissen mit hohem inhaltlichen Niveau liegen soll. Dieser Bereich macht traditionell die Mehrzahl der Vorträge auf dem Congress aus.

Beispiele für typische "Hacking"-Themen sind: Netzwerk- und Systemunsicherheiten, Sicherheit von biometrischen Systemen, Satelliten-Hacking, Hacking von Telefonsystemen, Kreative Nutzung von VoIP, GSM-Unsicherheit etc.

Science

Im Themenbereich "Science" geht es um aktuelle und zukünftige Entwicklungen in der Grundlagen- und Industrie-Forschung, die das Potential haben unser Leben grundlegend zu ändern.

Gesucht sind Vorträge und Arbeiten zum aktuellen Stand der Forschung z.B. aus den Gebieten Nanotechnologie, Quantencomputing, Hochfrequenzphysik, Biotechnologie, Brain-Computer Interfaces, automatisierte Analyse von Videos für Überwachungszwecke etc.

Society

Der Bereich "Society" widmet sich dem Zustand unser Gesellschaft.

Gesucht wird ein Realitätsabgleich z.B. in den Bereichen Abhörgesetze, Terrorismusbekämpfung, Überwachung, gesellschaftliche und rechtliche Aspekte autonomer Systeme und Roboter, Analyse der Verpeilung im industriellen Maßstab bei Großprojekten wie der LKW-Maut, Auswirkungen von Technik auf unsere Kinder, wie leben Nerds in anderen Kulturen und Ländern.

Culture

Der Themenbereich "Culture" umfasst kulturelle Bewusstseinserweiterungen und Themen am Rande des Technikuniversums. Beispiele sind 20 Jahre Cyberpunk, Soziale Strukturen und Konfliktlösung in Wikis und anderen "sozialen" Systemen, Spielekultur u.a.

Community

Der Congress lädt Entwickler, Projekte und Aktivisten dazu ein, sich und ihre Themen auf dem Congress vorzustellen. Entwicklergruppen erhalten auf Anfrage auch Unterstützung bei der Durchführung kleinerer Entwicklerkonferenzen und -treffen im Rahmen des Congresses.

Publikationen

Die Chaos Communication Congress Proceedings werden online im Internet publiziert. Nur Vorträge/Workshops, die stattgefunden haben, werden publiziert.

Audio- und Videomitschnitte aller Vorträge werden in verschiedenen Formaten im Internet veröffentlicht. Alle Dateien werden unter der Creative Commons Namensnennung-NichtKommerziell-KeineBearbeitung 2.0 Deutschland Lizenz veröffentlicht, die eine freie, nicht-kommerzielle Verbreitung des Materials sicherstellt, wobei die Nennung der Autoren und Pulizierer beibehalten werden muss.

Weitere Informationen

Der Chaos Communication Congress ist keine gewinnorientierte Veranstaltung, deshalb können wir leider keine Honorare zahlen. Ein Reisekostenzuschuss ist prinzipiell möglich und gegebenenfalls zu vereinbaren. Günstige oder kostenlose Unterkünfte können wir vermitteln.

Die vorläufige Agenda wird im Web unter http://www.ccc.de/congress/2004/ veröffentlicht. Das gleiche gilt für Informationen zur Teilnehmer-Registrierung.

Ansprechpartner für weitere Informationen und Fragen sind unter der E-Mail-Adresse 21c3-content@cccv.de zu erreichen.

Vortragseinreichung

Die Vorträge sollten auf englisch oder deutsch gehalten werden und inklusive Zeit für Fragen bis zu 60 Minuten dauern. Längere Vortragszeiten sind möglich, wenn das Thema dies rechtfertigt (bitte bei der Einreichung vermerken). Workshops sollten einen Vortragsteil über die Grundlagen und einen praktischen Hands-On Teil enthalten.

Interessenten werden gebeten, die Einreichung an 21c3-content@cccv.de zu senden unter Angabe nachstehender Informationen:

Der Stichtag zur Abgabe ist der 1. Oktober 2004. Die Benachrichtigung über die Annahme der Vorträge/Workshops wird spätestens am 1. November 2004 per E-Mail verschickt. Der Termin für die endgültige Fassung des Vortrags/Workshops ist der 1. Dezember 2004.

Termine

1.10.2004
Ende der Einreichungsfrist für Vorträge/Workshops
1.11.2004
Späteste Benachrichtigung über die Annahme der Vorträge/Workshops
1.12.2004
Abgabeschluss für endgültige Dokumentation/Vortragsfolien
27.-29.12.2004
Chaos Communication Congress