lang spacer left de en lang spacer right
17C3

Travel Guide

Venue Location

The Congress takes place at

17. Chaos Communication Congress
December 27 28 29, 2000
Haus Am Köllnischen Park (HAKP)
Am Köllnischen Park 6-7 (Map)
D-10179 Berlin, Germany

HAKP Umgebungsplan

The following route descriptions should be able to direct directly to the Congress. If it is not sufficient, try to route via /dev/null.

Arrival by train

The probably best way to travel to Berlin by train is from Hannover, Nürnberg or Hamburg via the ICE (Inter City Express) routes. Most trains stop at "Zoologischer Garten" in the western part of town, as well as at "Ostbahnhof" (you guessed it: in the eastern part). To check connections you can use the online timetable of the Deutsche Bahn at http://bahn.hafas.de/.

Participants planning to travel directly to the Congress by train, should get off at "Ostbahnhof" and take the bus no. 240 to "U Heinrich-Heine-Straße" from where it's only a couple of meters to the HAKP (Congress Center "Haus am Köllnischen Park"). The bus leaves the station every 20 minutes (every 10 minutes during rush-hour). Alternatively, you may take the S-bahn *back* (in relation to the direction you took by train) one station to "S Jannowitzbrücke" from where it's ca. 150 meters to the HAKP.

If your train ends at "Zoologischer Garten", take the U-Bahn U2 to "Märkisches museum" (trains running to "Vinetastrasse") from where it's ca. 100 meters to the HAKP.

Arrival by car

The best way to reach Berlin by car is to use one of the "Autobahn"-routes, any of which will lead you onto the "Berliner Ring" (A10). Depending on which section of the A10 this approach leads you to, we advise different routes.

Hint: Berlin is notorious for its numerous construction sites and a rather lively activity in the area of street renaming. We therefore strongly suggest to use a fairly recent edition of a city map, in order to avoid confusion and frustration due to "missing" or "unexpected" buildings, stations, streets etc.

Arrival via A24 or A11 (the direct route)

In this case, it is best to use the A114 from "Autobahndreieck Pankow" (exit 32). The A114 turns into "Prenzlauer Promenade" after a while, then into "Prenzlauer Allee". Continue until "Alexanderplatz". Turn left at the "Forum Hotel", immediately right, then left again. Now you're on "Alexanderstraße" leading towards an S-Bahn bridge. Drive underneath this bridge onto "Brückenstraße". Take the second turn right (Rungestrasse), then the first left which incidentially is named "Straße am Köllnischen Park". Voila!

Arrival via A2 or A9 (the scenic route)

Driving eastward, exit the A10 at "Dreieck Drewitz" and take the A115 ("Avus") towards Berlin central. After several kilometers straight onward you'll reach the big Autobahn-shebang where you need to take the 100 towards _Hamburg_ (!); but only for a little while - after a few hundred meters take the exit "Kaiserdamm". Once on the "Kaiserdamm" itself (a large town road) follow it eastward, straight ahead towards the "Brandenburger Tor" (yup, you're doing the "tourist thing" :-)

As of this writing, the Brandenburger Tor is closed for motorized traffic, so you need to take a right when you reach it. After this detour you'll find yourself back on track (street signs should now resemble something like "Unter den Linden"). Continue eastwards yet again, past the former "Palast der Republik", then turn right onto "Spandauer Straße". Continue past the "Rote Rathaus" (the city hall) past two intersections onto "Stralauer Straße" until you reach the S-Bahn bridge. Continue underneath the bridge and take a right at the next intersection (this will lead you underneath the S-bahn for a second time). You are/should be now on "Brückenstrasse". Turn into the second street (Rungestrasse), then immediately left again into the "Straße am Köllnischen Park". Presto!

Arrival via A12 or A13 (the unspectacular route)

If you arrive on the A12, simply ignore the A10. Instead locate the A113 and take it straight into town. In case you arrive on the A13, enter the A10 until "Schönefelder Kreuz" where you exit onto the A113. Either way you'll end up on the A113. After a while the A113 turns into the B96, leading - eventually - to Berlin central. Be stubborn, play hard: stick straight to the B96 (don't let that little detour around the "Treptower Park" upset or deter you) until you reach a S-bahn bridge. Drive underneath it. Brace yourself. Continue dead straight ahead. The road you're taking will change its name several times en-route: Puschkinallee, Schlesische Straße, Köpenicker Straße. Towards the end of "Köpenicker Straße" you'll intersect "Brückenstrasse" resp. "Heinrich-Heine-Straße" at the U-Bahn station "U Heinrich-Heine-Straße". Continue for one more intersection, then turn right into "Straße am Köllnischen Park". Bingo!

Once in Berlin, how do I get to the Congress?

The U-Bahn station "U Heinrich-Heine-Straße" (U-Bahn U8, bus no. 240, 265) is just a few meters away from the convention centre "Haus am Köllnischen Park" (HAKP). This should be your station of choice to reach the Congress comfortably.

The stations "U Märkisches Museum" (U2) and "S Jannowitzbrücke" are a bit further off, but definitely within walking distance.

Time-tables of the "BVG" (the Berlin public transport authority) are available online at http://www.fahrinfo-berlin.de/fahrinfo/de/index.htm. But the Deutsche Bahn has also all of the inner-urban connections in its web-database, so you can check your connections online as well at http://bahn.hafas.de/

The precise wording of the station there is "Heinrich-Heine-Str. (U), Berlin". Yes, this web interface sucks.

lang spacer left de en lang spacer right
17C3

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

Veranstaltungsort

Der Congress findet hier statt:

17. Chaos Communication Congress
27., 28. und 29. Dezember 2000
Haus Am Köllnischen Park (HAKP)
Am Köllnischen Park 6-7 (Stadtplan)
D-10179 Berlin

HAKP Umgebungsplan

Die folgenden Wegbeschreibungen sollten Euch eigentlich genügend Informationen bieten, damit Ihr den Weg zum Congress findet. Wenn das nicht ausreicht, dann geht doch einfach über Los.

Anreise mit der Bahn

Berlin ist per Bahn prima über die ICE-Strecken von Hannover, Nürnberg und Hamburg zu erreichen. Die meisten Züge halten sowohl im Bahnhof Zoologischer Garten im Westteil der Stadt, als auch am Ostbahnhof in Friedrichshain. Verbindungen plant Ihr am besten mit dem Online-Fahrplan der Bahn unter http://bahn.hafas.de/.

Wer direkt mit dem Zug zum Congress fahren möchte, steigt wenn möglich direkt am Ostbahnhof aus. Am Ostbahnhof steigt man in den Bus 240 und fährt bis zur Haltestelle "U Heinrich-Heine-Straße". Von dort sind es nur noch wenige Meter bis zum HAKP. Der Bus fährt im 20 Minuten-Takt (im Berufsverkehr alle 10 Minuten). Fährt kein Bus, kann man auch mit der S-Bahn eine Haltestelle bis "S Jannowitzbrücke" fahren und von dort aus ca. 150m zu Fuß gehen.

Wessen Zug am Bahnhof Zoologischer Garten endet kann von dort direkt mit der U2 bis zur U-Bahn-Station "Märkisches Museum" fahren. Von dort sind es noch 100 Meter bis zum HAKP.

Anreise mit dem Auto

Nach Berlin kommt Ihr am besten über die bekannten Autobahnen, die Euch auf den Berliner Ring (A10) führen. Je nachdem, wo Ihr auf die A10 aufschlagt, empfehlen sich unterschiedliche Anfahrtswege.

TIP: Berlinunkundigen wird der Erwerb eines neuen Stadtplanes nahegelegt (bei Benutzung von Stadtplänen älteren Datums sind wegen fehlender Mauern und umbenannter Straßen Orientierungsprobleme kaum zu vermeiden).

Anfahrt via A24 oder A11 (the direct route)

Hier fahrt Ihr am besten am Autobahndreieck Pankow (Abfahrt 35) auf die A114. Diese geht nach einigen Kilometern in die Prenzlauer Promenade, dann in die Prenzlauer Allee über. Einfach immer geradeaus und weiter bis zum Alexanderplatz. Dort vor dem Forum Hotel links abbiegen, gleich wieder rechts und dann gleich wieder links abbiegen. Jetzt seid Ihr auf der Alexanderstraße, die direkt auf eine S-Bahn-Brücke zuführt. Fahrt unter der S-Bahn hindurch in die Brückenstraße. Nun fahrt Ihr die zweite Straße rechts rein (Rungestraße) und biegt gleich wieder nach links in die Straße "Am Köllnischen Park" ab. Here you are.

Anfahrt via A2 oder A9 (the scenic route)

Von Westen aus verläßt man die A10 am Dreieck Drewitz und fährt auf der A115 (Avus) Richtung Berlin Zentrum. Nach einigen Kilometern Geradeausstrecke kommt die große Autobahnwurst, auf der Ihr Euch auf die A100 zunächst Richtung Hamburg (!) einordnet. Verlaßt die Autobahn nach einigen hundert Metern an der Ausfahrt Kaiserdamm und folgt den Wegweisern Richtung Kaiserdamm. Auf den Kaiserdamm nach links Richtung Osten einbiegen und dann immer geradeaus Richtung Brandenburger Tor (das ist die touristenkompatibelste Anfahrt :-)

Das Brandenburger Tor läßt sich von dieser Seite aus nicht direkt durchfahren, so daß Ihr vor dem Tor einen Schlenker nach rechts machen müßt, bevor ihr wieder auf die große Straße kommt (die hier Unter den Linden heißt). Weiter Richtung Osten am ehemaligen Palast der Republik vorbei und dann nach rechts in die Spandauer Straße. Am Roten Rahaus vorbei fahrt Ihr auch die nächsten beiden Kreuzungen geradeaus auf die Stralauer Straße bis zur S-Bahn-Brücke. Unter der Brücke hindurch und an der Kreuzung dahinter gleich nach rechts (wieder unter der S-Bahn hindurch) in die Brückenstraße einbiegen. Nun fahrt Ihr die zweite Straße rechts rein (Rungestraße) und biegt gleich wieder nach links in die Straße "Am Köllnischen Park" ab. Here you are.

Anfahrt via A12 oder A13 (the unspectacular route)

Von der A13 kommend läßt man die A10 gleich links liegen und fährt geradezu über die A113 nach Berlin rein. Von der A12 kommend fährt man zunächst auf die A10 und biegt dann am Schönefelder Kreuz auf die A113. Die A113 geht nach einer Weile in die B96a (Richtung Berlin Zentrum) über. Die Bundesstraße fahrt Ihr bis zum Erbrechen geradeaus, folgt dem eleganten Schlenker um den Treptower Park, ohne die Vorfahrtstraße zu verlassen, bis Ihr unter einer S-Bahn-Brücke hindurchkommt. Ab hier müßt Ihr wiederum einfach gnadenlos geradeaus fahren. Die Straße ändert mehrmals den Namen: Puschkinallee, Schlesische Straße, Köpenicker Straße. Gegen Ende der Köpenicker Straße kreuzt Ihr dieBrückenstraße/Heinrich-Heine-Straße bei der U-Bahn-Station "Heinrich-Heine-Straße". Jetzt noch genau eine Querstraße weiterfahren und dann rechts in die Straße "Am Köllnischen Park" abbiegen. Here you are.

Wie komme ich in Berlin zum Congress?

Die U-Bahn Haltestelle "U Heinrich-Heine-Straße" (U8, Bus 240, 265) liegt nur wenige Meter vom Haus Am Köllnischen Park entfernt und ist die erstrebenswerteste Haltestelle, um bequem und gemütlich zum Congress zu kommen.

Die Haltestellen "U Märkisches Museum" (U2) und "S Jannowitzbrücke" (sind ein paar Meter weiter entfernt, doch kommt man auch von dort bequem zum Veranstaltungsgebäude).

Fahrpläne der BVG lassen sich online nachschlagen unter: http://www.fahrinfo-berlin.de/fahrinfo/de/index.htm. Allerdings hat auch der Deutsche Bahn Webserver alle Stadtverbindungen im Computer. Ihr könnt also auch unter http://bahn.hafas.de/ nachschlagen. Die optimale Zielhaltestelle heißt dort "Heinrich-Heine-Str. (U), Berlin".